Page 1 of 1

Glances - Htop replacement that works everywhere

Posted: 17 Jul 2013, 23:21
by viking60
You might know htop.
Glances is a replacement that works on Linux Mac and Windows.
It Monitors your system or any system on your network and Manjaro Fedora Debian,Mint,Ubuntu ++ has it in the repos.
Image

Simply install it and type glances to monitor your system and press h - to get help and h again to get back.

To monitor another computer (server) on the network - go to it/login and type:

Code: Select all

glances -s

Then on your client type:

Code: Select all

glances -c @server

It will show you that server on your client terminal (using the IP is the best way):
Image
It can be used in tmux etc.
Image
Nice little tool this - enjoy! :coffee_cup:

Re: Glances - Htop replacement that works everywhere

Posted: 19 Jul 2013, 17:39
by dedanna1029

Code: Select all

.:[ [email protected] : 10:38:07 : ~ ]:.
:( urpmq glances -a
No package named glances

:(

I like that it gives those warnings at the end on your computer. It's not doing it on the servers though, unless there's no warnings to notify of?

Re: Glances - Htop replacement that works everywhere

Posted: 20 Jul 2013, 09:32
by viking60
It will warn equally well regardless of what box you are monitoring.
I think it is easier to structure the info with glances.
Like simply pressing m will sort by memory usage and c by CPU (a- for automatic is default).
I have noticed that this is not in the Mageia or Mandriva family repos - but I guess it can be "borrowed" from Fedora.

Re: Glances - Htop replacement that works everywhere

Posted: 21 Jul 2013, 06:21
by dedanna1029
hhmmm... I may just do that...

Re: Glances - Htop replacement that works everywhere

Posted: 04 Nov 2013, 17:01
by viking60
Wiki added

Re: Glances - Htop replacement that works everywhere

Posted: 22 Nov 2018, 11:32
by viking60
Today my Glances stopped working! I got a lot of jiberish text instead of the usual system info. :C
It turns out that glances got my network interface wrong assuming that my Laptop was on wire (enp1s0) while it actually is wireless..

Now this used to work just fine so it has to be a bug:
:A
https://github.com/nicolargo/glances/issues/1348

It is already fixed but not released yet so I have to make Glances work in the mean time. This can be done by eliminating the network module like this:

Code: Select all

glances --disable-plugin network


This starts Glances without the network plugin and everything ('cept network) works just fine again.

Life is good again:
Image

Thanks to this guy in the Manjaro forum