[resolved] Now I've done it. (Arch)

You like a certain distro? Tell us why here

Moderators: b1o, jkerr82508

Forum rules
Try to avoid "fanboyism" Spam is strictly forbidden. The general rules apply: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=568
User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8598
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

[resolved] Now I've done it. (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 27 Jun 2010, 09:00

Upgraded grub to grub2 (or so I thought) in Arch. What it did was uninstall grub, and not install grub2. I had noticed it, but then forgot about it later when I went to hit up to reboot... came right back up to nothing at all loading, but a grub shell in tty. I had meant to install grub2 before I rebooted. There is literally nothing in /boot on the Arch drive... The kernel won't load (understandably), nothing. Just a grub shell.


Image


Oh lordie... :(

Any clue what to do, aside from reinstall?

Thanks.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8598
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Now I've done it.

Postby dedanna1029 » 01 Jul 2010, 09:01

Anyone? Thanks.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
R_Head
Berserk
Posts: 2647
Joined: 17 Mar 2010, 15:40

Re: Now I've done it.

Postby R_Head » 01 Jul 2010, 13:17

I am curious, if you take a Mandriva DVD and boot from it.
There is section where you can reinstall the Bootloaded. I wonder if it will do the trick.

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8598
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Now I've done it.

Postby dedanna1029 » 01 Jul 2010, 16:46

There isn't anything on the Arch cd?

Edit: Arch Wiki to the rescue. All I can do is try it.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
R_Head
Berserk
Posts: 2647
Joined: 17 Mar 2010, 15:40

Re: Now I've done it.

Postby R_Head » 01 Jul 2010, 18:26

Apparently it does have some like that.

I like better Mandriva way, is much easier :D

BTW, I heard bad things about GRUB2. I just stick on what works. ;)

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8598
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Now I've done it.

Postby dedanna1029 » 01 Jul 2010, 18:34

Yeah, think I'm going to do that with Arch (although grub2 is working quite well here on Fedora). I'm going to have to reinstall. When grub uninstalled on me, it uninstalled everything, and I mean everything, so trying the cd wouldn't fly.

Oh well I guess. Off to back up and get on it. Take care.

Also, p.s., I wouldn't use a Mandriva anything to do anything with any more. Hint also, Mandriva can't boot my beloved Arch. They're two entirely different systems (and Arch is WAY better when one's not stupid with it).

R_Head and rolf: I'm going to need you guys to hold down the fort for me while I'm off with this. It appears we *may* have a spammer on the way (see new member at the bottom of the front page) - I sent them a warning last night. Thanks.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
R_Head
Berserk
Posts: 2647
Joined: 17 Mar 2010, 15:40

Re: Now I've done it.

Postby R_Head » 01 Jul 2010, 21:20

I was wondering if the Bootloader fix on Mandriva will do the trick for Arch.
Just a shot in the dark.

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8598
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Now I've done it.

Postby dedanna1029 » 01 Jul 2010, 23:38

No, because they're completely different file systems. Mandriva=rpm, Arch=scripts. Mandriva's grub would be totally unrecognizable to Arch. Mandriva also only builds for themselves, unlike Arch (speaking of which, I don't call that contribution on the whole to Linux).

I'm just about done; just can't get X to start with the Nvidia 256 driver. I've left it alone for now; my neck is killing me, and my wrists. Will go back to it when I'm not sober and more relaxed. LOL. Back to Fedora 13.

Thanks for the ideas, though.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9316
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Now I've done it.

Postby viking60 » 08 Jul 2010, 10:37

R_Head wrote:I am curious, if you take a Mandriva DVD and boot from it.
There is section where you can reinstall the Bootloaded. I wonder if it will do the trick.

Actually this might work. rpm or not, it still is grub. It could detect the old settings and fix them.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8598
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Now I've done it.

Postby dedanna1029 » 08 Jul 2010, 16:07

Not when everything for grub was completely gone, even from /usr/lib, and everywhere else.

But alas, now I has an X issue upon reinstallation. :( Still can't get in.

I will never use gtkpacman again to install a package. This is time #2 something like this has happened. I'll use it to find names of packages - that's it.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8598
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Now I've done it.

Postby dedanna1029 » 09 Jul 2010, 20:43

I can't get X to start in Arch. It doesn't want to play nice with the Nvidia 256 driver. The others are gone... what to do? xorg.conf is correct, everythiing is. Ran nvidia-xconfig successfully, the works.

I WANT MY ARCH LINUX BACK!!! :f :? *cries*

Xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9316
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Now I've done it.

Postby viking60 » 09 Jul 2010, 21:21

What happens if you replace your lines in section Device with:

Code: Select all

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"

In stead of

Code: Select all

Identifier     "Card0"
Driver         "vesa"
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"


Return to “Distro talk”