Raspberry pi - setting it up

Hardware tips and talk

Moderators: b1o, jkerr82508

User avatar
b1o
IT and IS Guru-Berserk
Posts: 198
Joined: 15 Mar 2010, 03:16

Re: Raspberry pi - setting it up

Postby b1o » 14 Jan 2014, 22:31

Try to perform a System update now.
If that doesn't work, create a file called 99-input.rules under /etc/udev/rules.d.

paste the following content into that file:

Code: Select all

KERNEL=="mice", NAME="input/%k", MODE="664", GROUP="input"
KERNEL=="mouse*", NAME="input/%k", MODE="664", GROUP="input"
KERNEL=="event*", NAME="input/%k", MODE="664" GROUP="input"

save and close the file and run the following command

Code: Select all

usermod -a -G input xbmc


This fixed my keyboard issue
CPU: i7 950 3.1 ghz |RAM: 12 GB DDR3 |Graphics: Nvidia Geforce gtx 280 |motherboard: Rampage II Extreme |OS: Arch + windows7

Just remember, there is no such thing as a stupid question, until you ask it

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9351
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Raspberry pi - setting it up

Postby viking60 » 15 Jan 2014, 00:15

Okydoky - will do!
I'll. be back with the result.
Edit
Sorry - no cigar

I am really close to this one.
Everything boots nicely I get auto logged in and Xbmc does start the "first run".

And from there I cannot do anything since the mouse and keyboard do not work :wall:
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
b1o
IT and IS Guru-Berserk
Posts: 198
Joined: 15 Mar 2010, 03:16

Re: Raspberry pi - setting it up

Postby b1o » 15 Jan 2014, 23:05

Even after rebooting the system?
CPU: i7 950 3.1 ghz |RAM: 12 GB DDR3 |Graphics: Nvidia Geforce gtx 280 |motherboard: Rampage II Extreme |OS: Arch + windows7

Just remember, there is no such thing as a stupid question, until you ask it

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9351
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Raspberry pi - setting it up

Postby viking60 » 15 Jan 2014, 23:21

Well I update and do the stuff on my box in the "boys room" disconnect and attach it to the TV in another room.
So yes it was rebooted. Frustrating indeed :think: :wall:
But I have tried so many settings and installed stuff so maybe a fresh install is the way to go. The keyboard did work before I started fiddling :boohoo:
I think it is related to my X installation...
I see you are online lets go to the chat chat.php
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9351
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Raspberry pi - setting it up

Postby viking60 » 24 Feb 2014, 01:40

Ahhhh Finally!
As the observant reader might have noticed; I have been slightly upset since I could not get my mouse or keyboard to respond :berserkf

Here is what I did:

Code: Select all

nano /etc/udev/rules.d/raspberrypi.rules


I pasted this in:

Code: Select all

SUBSYSTEM=="vchiq|input", MODE="0777"
KERNEL=="mouse*|mice|event*",  MODE="0777"


And it worked!
Now it boots and starts Xbmc right out of the box - nice! And this thing is fast too...
Image

Here are my rasberry pi data:

Code: Select all

[viking@alarmpi xorg.conf.d]$ inxi -v7 -z
System:    Host: alarmpi Kernel: 3.10.30-2-ARCH armv6l (32 bit, gcc: 4.8.2) Desktop: Xfce 4 dm: N/A Distro: Arch Linux ARM
Machine:   No /sys/class/dmi, using dmidecode: you must be root to run dmidecode
CPU:       Single core ARMv6-compatible rev 7 (v6l) (-UP-) (ARM) bmips: 2 clocked at 2.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Failed to Detect Video Card! X.Org: 1.14.5 driver: fbdev Resolution: 1920x1200
           GLX Renderer: N/A GLX Version: N/A Direct Rendering: N/A
Audio:     Card: bcm2835 ALSA driver: BRCM bcm2835 ALSbcm2835 ALSA Sound: ALSA ver: k3.10.30-2-ARCH
Network:   Card: Standard Microsystems SMSC9512/9514 Fast Ethernet Adapter usb-ID: 001-003 chip-ID: 0424:ec00
           IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
           WAN IP: <filter> IF: eth0 ip: <filter> ip-v6: N/A IF: ifb0 ip: N/A ip-v6: N/A
           IF: ifb1 ip: N/A ip-v6: N/A
Drives:    Optical: No optical drives detected.
Partition: ID: / size: 15G used: 6.2G (44%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/root label: N/A uuid: N/A
           ID: /boot size: 90M used: 24M (27%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/mmcblk0p1 label: N/A uuid: 9CA5-384C
RAID:      System: supported: linear raid0 raid1 raid10 raid6 raid5 raid4 multipath faulty
           No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
           Unused Devices: none
Unmounted: ID: /dev/mmcblk0 size: 16.14G label: N/A uuid: N/A
           ID: /dev/mmcblk0p5 size: 16.04G label: N/A uuid: e06c801a-90c3-474c-8484-8ac426b4f92b fs: ext4
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 66 Uptime: 22 min Memory: 77.5/462.4MB
           Gcc sys: N/A Client: Shell (bash 4.2.45 running in sshd) inxi: 1.9.18

I am beginning to like this little powerful box again :tux5:
Image
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9351
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Raspberry pi - setting it up

Postby viking60 » 24 Feb 2014, 22:04

Ok so xbmc fires and I can play music and watch videos. But there are a few things left that I need to attend to.

The keyboard is not my locale in CLI:

Code: Select all

[viking@alarmpi ~]$ localectl status
   System Locale: n/a

       VC Keymap: n/a
      X11 Layout: n/a


So I did a:

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/vconsole.conf


And put this content in there:

Code: Select all

KEYMAP=no-latin1

Hopefully that will take care of it the next time I connect it to the TV.
It does look a bit better via ssh too now:

Code: Select all

localectl status
   System Locale: n/a

       VC Keymap: no-latin1
      X11 Layout: n/a


The USB disk is not auto-mounted either. I have I installed ntfs-3g and autofs so maybe.... Going to connect this to the TV now.....
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9351
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Raspberry pi - setting it up

Postby viking60 » 24 Feb 2014, 22:59

Hmm... Looks like today's update killed the signal to the Hdmi connection.

This was the upgrade:

Code: Select all

[2014-02-24 21:49] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2014-02-24 21:50] [PACMAN] upgraded libwbclient (4.1.4-1.1 -> 4.1.5-1)
[2014-02-24 21:50] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] >>> Updating module dependencies. Please wait ...
[2014-02-24 21:50] [PACMAN] upgraded linux-raspberrypi (3.10.30-2 -> 3.10.32-1)
[2014-02-24 21:50] [PACMAN] upgraded s-nail (14.5.2-4 -> 14.6-1)
[2014-02-24 21:50] [PACMAN] upgraded smbclient (4.1.4-1.1 -> 4.1.5-1)


I downgraded all the packages without luck, so I guess it must be the kernel :wall:

Edit:
New upgrade and life was good again!
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9351
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Raspberry pi - setting it up

Postby viking60 » 26 Oct 2014, 12:26

Ok we have really been on the Bleeding here. Alarm is not the preferred system for Raspberry pi - Debian is.
This is probably due to the easier installation.
There is no doubt in my mind that the rewards by installing Arch are great though - if you can get there. It is blisteringly fast and my XBMC media center has been running smoothly for a long time now.

There never is any lagging so all it lacks is a wifi dongle to connect it to the network.
The ARM Arch Linux is not even officially a part of the Archlinux - just a spinoff. It does not get more bleeding edge than that.

It has resulted in a fine and stable XBMC Rasberry pi media center here though. I really like this little box +1

Keyboard works, mouse works, USB disks do autoconnect, so I can show all my movies or play music - and once I get that wifi dongle my (wifes) Android phone will be the remote control.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8780
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Raspberry pi - setting it up

Postby dedanna1029 » 05 Dec 2014, 21:23

Nice. I'm going to check all this out once I'm settled. Thanks!
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html


Return to “Hardware”