[solved - updates] No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Moderators: b1o, jkerr82508

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 27 Jul 2010, 18:31

Problem is, when I check for mplayer, there's no mplayer-pulse in Arch. There is in Fedora. In fact, I find nothing for mplayer in Arch other than the main programs: gnome-mplayer, etc.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9320
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby viking60 » 27 Jul 2010, 19:19

If you do a yaourt mplayer it is No.32 but it is out of date (whatever that means)
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 27 Jul 2010, 19:46

Means it won't work with current version. :( Tried one of those once. Didn't work. They haven't updated it is what it means.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9320
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby viking60 » 27 Jul 2010, 20:00

Probably they are far ahead of Fedora and have replaced it with something else. Fedora is not as cutting edge as Arch. But I don't know more than this:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Mplayer
I do not use sound on my Arch box. :(
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 27 Jul 2010, 20:23

Ah, okay. I can't have a box without sound. Will check it out.

No. The yaourt version you mentioned there is behind the Arch version of mplayer. Hence the "Out of date" in yaourt. The contributor needs to update it. (Nothing to do with Fedora on that; was just saying it works fine in Fedora is all)
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 27 Jul 2010, 20:25

Ah. I refuse to install gecko-mediaplayer.

I detest gecko. Talk about out of date, and buggy.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 08 Aug 2010, 18:17

This still remains unresolved. mplayer still doesn't work in Arch, and it's the only thing that doesn't for sound. It doesn't list itself in Pulseaudio's Volume Control-->Applications, It acts as if it's playing back, but there's no sound when it does.

mplayer still works fine everywhere else - Fedora, etc., so I'm remaining in Fedora, because I need mplayer.

FYI, I have also reset ~/.mplayer several times, to no avail. I've uninstalled and reinstalled mplayer using pacman, yaourt, been up and down everything on this road that can be thought of.

I still think there's a bug somewhere.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9320
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: [unresolved] No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby viking60 » 08 Aug 2010, 18:41

Lucky me! I just removed tovid while you were helping me with the video conversion thing. You could try that.
I hooked up my loudspeakers and all worked. Videos play just fine. It was a dependency thing if I remember correctly.
But do all your stuff before you install tovid. (Sort of what got me going. I have Nvidia Geforce 9400GT on that one).
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Adv ... chitecture
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: [unresolved] No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 08 Aug 2010, 18:58

See here. It has nothing to do with tovid. This issue has been 'round since long before I installed tovid, in fact since I last installed Arch.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9320
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: [unresolved] No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby viking60 » 08 Aug 2010, 19:01

OK so why do we think I have it working - despite this being an Arch issue? I must be a genius - I just didn't know it :D
I provided a link above that might help.
Here is what I have installed that resembles mplayer:
smplayer-themes
smplayer
mplayer
kdemultimedia-mplayerthumbs

Pulseaudio:
pulseaudio
pulseaudio-alsa
pulseaudio-mixer-applet

alsa-lib
gnome-alsamixer
alsa-plugins
pulseaudio-alsa :?:
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: [unresolved] No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 08 Aug 2010, 19:12

Yep. It's all installed here. I have no clue why. All I know is I installed it, and it didn't have sound, and hasn't since. Again, everything else works for sound. It's just mplayer doing this.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9320
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: [unresolved] No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby viking60 » 08 Aug 2010, 19:22

you do have the alsa-utils of course?
And when you play a video in SMPlayer you do not here the sound? Have you un-muted it? (I guess you must have since you can here it everywhere else)

Semi-workarounds:
- pulseaudio --kill. This restarts the PulseAudio system and then it works
fine again.
- I change the card profile (say, from stereo to 7.1 and back). This makes
PulseAudio output sound again. If I do this while mplayer plays the video
file, I can hear its own audio stream fine. This means that only the
initialization of mplayer makes pulseaudio go bonkers.

:?:

I got this from a guy having the same problem in Ubuntu - it looks like mplayer sux :mrgreen:
http://lists.mplayerhq.hu/pipermail/mpl ... 79932.html
And you probably should read the stuff at the very bottom of this page:
http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/8525
Looks like you must install the svn version of mplayer.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"


Return to “Audio/video”