[solved - updates] No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Moderators: b1o, jkerr82508

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

[solved - updates] No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 18 Jul 2010, 19:40

Pastebin here of playback.

I've set it to everything in the book for audio/video in preferences, but all I get is video, no matter what way I go, both in CLI and GUI (to include smplayer, gnome-mplayer, and just mplayer). Doesn't matter what kind of file; .mp3, .mp4, .avi, anything, I get no sound.

Any clue what could be wrong? I can't uninstall it. Too many other things depend on it:

Code: Select all

# pacman -R gnome-mplayer kdemultimedia-mplayerthumbs mplayer smplayer smplayer-themes
checking dependencies...
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: acetoneiso2: requires mplayer
:: devede: requires mplayer
:: electricsheep: requires mplayer
:: gmencoder: requires mplayer
:: kde-meta-kdemultimedia: requires kdemultimedia-mplayerthumbs
:: mandvd: requires mplayer


This is in Arch, btw. Thanks.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9320
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: No sound in mplayer

Postby viking60 » 18 Jul 2010, 20:59

Do you have more than one sound card?
Anyway

Code: Select all

pacman -Rs
should do it!
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 18 Jul 2010, 23:34

Yes, I do. What would pacman -Rs do? I need to keep with being able to use both the onboard sound, and my audigy. Thanks.
Rs removes the files and the dependencies not used by others.
Maybe this can help you regarding the sound:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/All ... k_of_Sound
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 19 Jul 2010, 05:58

Oh, sorry, I should have been more clear. This is only in mplayer that I have no sound. Everything else is fine. I think this one may help; however I tried from CLI with:

Code: Select all

mplayer -ao alsa <filename>
.

Didn't do anything sound wise. :(
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 19 Jul 2010, 06:23

Actually, the command was more than that even. I'll scroll back through my day's terminal (which thank the gods that be is set to "unlimited"), and will find it, and add it to the pastebin above. Edit: I've posted it to the pastebin, and updated its url above. It was:

Code: Select all

mplayer -ao alsa:device=hw,0 <filename>


It doesn't matter if I'm using vdpau, X11, xv, alsa, pulse, or oss in mplayer. Nothing works. I'm beginning to suspect a bug.

Thanks.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 20 Jul 2010, 21:51

Still no love or joy from mplayer in Arch.

Will file a bug on mplayer when I get back in there.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9320
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby viking60 » 21 Jul 2010, 02:03

Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
b1o
IT and IS Guru-Berserk
Posts: 198
Joined: 15 Mar 2010, 03:16

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby b1o » 21 Jul 2010, 02:17

Tried songbird or vlc?
mplayer isn't the best player out there :P
but if you really want to figure out mplayer i can see if i have sound in it on my system, if not i'll keep you posted

EDIT: Nope i have sound, sry can't help you :P

all i did was to install mplayer then wrote:

Code: Select all

mplayer some_video_file.avi
CPU: i7 950 3.1 ghz |RAM: 12 GB DDR3 |Graphics: Nvidia Geforce gtx 280 |motherboard: Rampage II Extreme |OS: Arch + windows7

Just remember, there is no such thing as a stupid question, until you ask it

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 21 Jul 2010, 04:36

b1o wrote:Tried songbird or vlc?
mplayer isn't the best player out there :P
but if you really want to figure out mplayer i can see if i have sound in it on my system, if not i'll keep you posted

EDIT: Nope i have sound, sry can't help you :P

all i did was to install mplayer then wrote:

Code: Select all

mplayer some_video_file.avi

I tried that too. Didn't work.

I need mplayer for several things. Headed to check out Viking's link.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 21 Jul 2010, 04:39

viking60 wrote:https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=56350

Didn't even go there with dvdnav. I just want to be able to play regular local files. Looks like they did something to eff it up for sure.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8623
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby dedanna1029 » 27 Jul 2010, 17:57

After updates yesterday, mplayer still no workie. Have reverted to vlc, but really need mplayer.

It doesn't even register when playing back something, in Pulseaudio-->Applications. It's not there.

Works in Fedora, out of the box.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9320
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: No sound in mplayer (Arch)

Postby viking60 » 27 Jul 2010, 18:23

You might check the dependency list in Fedora and check if you have them all in Arch. Must be some programs you are missing,
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"


Return to “Audio/video”