Drop down terminals

Every day solutions to every day challenges. + Brilliant stuff

Moderators: b1o, jkerr82508

Forum rules
Please feel free to post your tip it does not have to be advanced. Also ask questions directly related to the tip here. But do not start new threads with questions or ask for help here. That is what the help section is for. forum rules: http://bjoernvold.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=568
User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8411
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby dedanna1029 » 26 Oct 2010, 17:53

No. What I mean, is I want to be able to get it to roll up. Like when you click the bottom border of it, it literally rolls up, then you can click it again, and it comes back down. I kinow that there's a way to do this in compiz, but there isn't when not in compiz (which I don't use much).

I know the screen real estate screen can be changed. What I think though is that it shouldn't take so much on default - when it's first installed. It should have a smaller setting on default.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby viking60 » 26 Oct 2010, 19:06

Ah so you need some animation. The function pretty much stays the same though, if I have understood this correctly.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby viking60 » 27 Oct 2010, 01:38

Ok Going to test Tilda now. Joste made me curious. It seems to have more functions......
Aha I see what you mean now dedanna! Tilda has all you ask for. Better control over the size. Nice roll up and it works with byobu too. Testing further.....
Tilda works like Guake. Adding tabs works the same but you have better control over the fonts and placement of the terminal. Also you can control the size of the Terminal in all directions. You toggle with F1. If I could only figure out how to rename the tabs for each terminal...
Aha I get it! When I log in to other computers the tabs are renamed automatically in Tilda. Wow that is nice. I just might switch now :D
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8411
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby dedanna1029 » 27 Oct 2010, 07:24

Joste wrote:Yakuake Version 2.9.6
Using KDE Development Platform 4.4.3 (KDE 4.4.3)

Works fine here buttons do what the tooltips say, quit, menu, keep window open when it loses focus.

Also, hitting F12 (or whatever) rolls it up and down rather than minimising to the tray.

There is a transparency option but it only makes some parts transparent, not the terminal background... Though there is a Compiz plugin you can use to make it transparent.


There is also tilda and YeahConsole.

Does none of the above for me.

Am wondering how telling it is that tilda depends on "confuse"...
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8411
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby dedanna1029 » 27 Oct 2010, 07:25

viking60 wrote:Ok Going to test Tilda now. Joste made me curious. It seems to have more functions......
Aha I see what you mean now dedanna! Tilda has all you ask for. Better control over the size. Nice roll up and it works with byobu too. Testing further.....
Tilda works like Guake. Adding tabs works the same but you have better control over the fonts and placement of the terminal. Also you can control the size of the Terminal in all directions. You toggle with F1. If I could only figure out how to rename the tabs for each terminal...
Aha I get it! When I log in to other computers the tabs are renamed automatically in Tilda. Wow that is nice. I just might switch now :D

hhmmm.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8411
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby dedanna1029 » 27 Oct 2010, 07:40

Of course, all of this becomes moot to someone who much prefers playing in tty anyway. So with that, I'll bow out of this thread.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby viking60 » 28 Oct 2010, 00:05

Here is a video of Tilda:
:A
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8411
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby dedanna1029 » 28 Oct 2010, 00:18

What command gets it to roll up and down? Thanks.

I much prefer the default size of that - I have transparency, etc. going and byobu.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby viking60 » 28 Oct 2010, 00:45

F1 does the job :ugeek: And I edited the fonts down to 10 dpi but kept them bold.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8411
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby dedanna1029 » 28 Oct 2010, 03:25

I like it myself, very much. Transparency just works. The only single thing I'm having issues with is having it start byobu when I hit it up - had set it to do that and it doesn't. No problem to type in "byobu" without the quotes at all, but would be nice to have it start with it.

Font is not bolded here, just set it to Sans 11.

(MAN, Sans is nice in Arch...)

There is one slight little niggle with it:

Code: Select all

.:[ [email protected] : 21:06:48 : ~ ]:.
:) su
Password:
-->bash: bash_prompt_cmd: command not found
but yet I still get -->[[email protected] dedanna]# pacman -S anachron
error: 'anachron': could not find or read package
-->bash: bash_prompt_cmd: command not found
[[email protected] dedanna]# pacman -S anacron
error: 'anacron': could not find or read package
-->bash: bash_prompt_cmd: command not found
[[email protected] dedanna]# exit
exit
.:[ [email protected] : 21:08:04 : ~ ]:.
:(

(Yes, I know anachron isn't there; this is just for example purposes)
I don't have this in regular terminal, so am thinking it's specific to tilda. I remember seeing this some years ago with terminal, but have forgotten how it gets fixed.

Even still, methinks Joste has given us a bigger heads up than he realizes. I really like tilda. Thanks, Joste.

Image
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby viking60 » 28 Oct 2010, 11:25

You can autostart byobu by entering "byobu" in the custom command in the "Title and Command" tab
I find Tilda a bit "moody". If I hit F1 many time i a row it "greys" out on me.
And regarding your "niggle" it looks like you have fubared your .bashrc Have a look here and check that your content is correct:
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=265&p=5233&hilit=prompt#p5233
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8411
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby dedanna1029 » 28 Oct 2010, 13:53

That's what I have though, and wouldn't it be doing it in other terminals too if it were wrong?

Code: Select all

 cat .bashrc

# Check for an interactive session
#[ -z "$PS1" ] && return

#alias ls='ls --color=auto'
#PS1='[\[email protected]\h \W]\$ '

bash_prompt_cmd() {
RTN=$?



smiley() {
    if [ $1 == 0 ] ; then
echo ":)"
    else
echo ":("
       fi
    }
smileyc() {
    if [ $1 == 0 ] ; then
echo $GREEN
else
echo $RED
       fi
    }
if [ $(tput colors) -gt 0 ] ; then
RED=$(tput setaf 1)
GREEN=$(tput setaf 2)
RST=$(tput op)
fi
smiley=$(smiley $RTN)
smileyc=$(smileyc $RTN)
        local CY="\[\e[1;31m\]" # Each is 12 chars long
        local BL="\[\e[1;34m\]"
        local WH="\[\e[1;37m\]"
        local BR="\[\e[0;33m\]"
        local RE="\[\e[1;31m\]"
        local PROMPT="${CY}$"
        [ $UID -eq "0" ] && PROMPT="${RE}#"

        # Add the first part of the prompt: username,host, and time
        local PROMPT_PWD=""
        local PS1_T1="$BL.:[ $CY`whoami`@`hostname` $BL: $CY\t $BL:$CY "
        local ps_len=$(( ${#PS1_T1} - 12 * 6 + 6 + 4 )) #Len adjust for colors, time and var
        local PS1_T2=" $BL]:.\n\[\$smileyc\]\$smiley\[$RST\] "
        local startpos=""

        PROMPT_PWD="${PWD/#$HOME/~}"
        local overflow_prefix="..."
        local pwdlen=${#PROMPT_PWD}
        local maxpwdlen=$(( COLUMNS - ps_len ))
        # Sometimes COLUMNS isn't initiliased, if it isn't, fall back on 80
        [ $maxpwdlen -lt 0 ] && maxpwdlen=$(( 80 - ps_len ))

        if [ $pwdlen -gt $maxpwdlen ] ; then
                startpos=$(( $pwdlen - maxpwdlen + ${#overflow_prefix} ))
                PROMPT_PWD="${overflow_prefix}${PROMPT_PWD:$startpos:$maxpwdlen}"
        fi
        export PS1="${PS1_T1}${PROMPT_PWD}${PS1_T2}"
smiley=$(smiley $RTN)
smileyc=$(smileyc $RTN)
        local CY="\[\e[1;31m\]" # Each is 12 chars long
        local BL="\[\e[1;34m\]"
        local WH="\[\e[1;37m\]"
        local BR="\[\e[0;33m\]"
        local RE="\[\e[1;31m\]"
        local PROMPT="${CY}$"
        [ $UID -eq "0" ] && PROMPT="${RE}#"

        # Add the first part of the prompt: username,host, and time
        local PROMPT_PWD=""
        local PS1_T1="$BL.:[ $CY`whoami`@`hostname` $BL: $CY\t $BL:$CY "
        local ps_len=$(( ${#PS1_T1} - 12 * 6 + 6 + 4 ))
   #Len adjust for colors, time and var
        local PS1_T2=" $BL]:.\n\[\$smileyc\]\$smiley\[$RST\] "
        local startpos=""

        PROMPT_PWD="${PWD/#$HOME/~}"
        local overflow_prefix="..."
        local pwdlen=${#PROMPT_PWD}
        local maxpwdlen=$(( COLUMNS - ps_len ))
        # Sometimes COLUMNS isn't initiliased, if it isn't, fall back on 80
        [ $maxpwdlen -lt 0 ] && maxpwdlen=$(( 80 - ps_len ))

        if [ $pwdlen -gt $maxpwdlen ] ; then
                startpos=$(( $pwdlen - maxpwdlen + ${#overflow_prefix} ))
                PROMPT_PWD="${overflow_prefix}${PROMPT_PWD:$startpos:$maxpwdlen}"
        fi
        export PS1="${PS1_T1}${PROMPT_PWD}${PS1_T2}"
}
PROMPT_COMMAND=bash_prompt_cmd


Or does the very last line here need to go? Edit: Yep, it sho' do need to come out. I r just fixored it doing that.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html


Return to “Tips & Tricks”