Drop down terminals

Every day solutions to every day challenges. + Brilliant stuff

Moderators: b1o, jkerr82508

Forum rules
Please feel free to post your tip it does not have to be advanced. Also ask questions directly related to the tip here. But do not start new threads with questions or ask for help here. That is what the help section is for. forum rules: http://bjoernvold.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=568
User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9222
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Drop down terminals

Postby viking60 » 05 Oct 2010, 23:53

I have had a look at guake and I like it so much that my gnome terminal is history:
Install guake and start it. You will find it in the Fedora, Ubuntu, Arch, Mandriva and Debian repos. So there is nothing special with the installation.

Guake will let you organize your terminals in tabs. By hitting <SHIFT>+<CTRL>+T you open a new tab. To close a tab press <SHIFT>+<CTRL>+W.
I often find myself with 6 or seven opened terminals after a few hours work so this is neat.
You open a terminal by pressing F12. (Just remember to put guake on your startup program list so that you do not have to start it manually every time). And you can customize it as you like.
Try it and tell me what you think :idea:
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8387
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby dedanna1029 » 06 Oct 2010, 00:47

Oh WOW. That is COOL! (Arch)
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9222
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby viking60 » 06 Oct 2010, 00:53

I thought you might like it. The video above is Arch too. But I also installed it in Mandriva. It works fine with both compiz and metacity.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8387
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby dedanna1029 » 06 Oct 2010, 00:57

Nice. I'm going to have to play with this for a while... :D
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9222
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby viking60 » 20 Oct 2010, 01:51

I have played around with it for some time now and it has become my main Terminal.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8387
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby dedanna1029 » 20 Oct 2010, 05:31

Yeah, it's getting pretty close for me, too.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

rvause
Viking
Posts: 42
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 20:17
Contact:

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby rvause » 25 Oct 2010, 22:03

Wow, thanks for this tip: guake+byobu = brillant.

Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9222
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby viking60 » 25 Oct 2010, 22:25

:s byobu is that info line at the bottom right? Looks interesting. I must try that.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8387
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby dedanna1029 » 26 Oct 2010, 03:18

hhmmm...

Must find a way to get it to roll up... and back down when needed... like a window shade...

Code: Select all

yaourt byobu
1 aur/byobu 3.5-2 (109)
    Enhanced profile and configuration utilities for GNU screen
==> Enter n° (separated by blanks, or a range) of packages to be installed
==> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
==> 1


==> Downloading byobu PKGBUILD from AUR...
bsdtar: Removing leading '/' from member names
x byobu-arch.diff
x byobu.install
x PKGBUILD


Comment by: anrxc on Mon, 17 May 2010 12:44:48 +0000
There is a limitation in screen that can result in some of your widgets loosing color - screen can only change the color 16 times on a given line. Those that want to remove this limitation can rebuild their screen with this change http://savannah.gnu.org/bugs/?22146   

First Submitted: Tue, 14 Jul 2009 20:20:29 +0000   
byobu 3.5-2 : Enhanced profile and configuration utilities for GNU screen
( Unsupported package: Potentially dangerous ! )
==> Edit PKGBUILD ? [Y/n] ("A" to abort)
==> ------------------------------------
==> n

==> byobu dependencies:
 - python2 (already installed)
 - gettext (already installed)
 - screen (package found)
 - libnewt (package found)


==> Edit byobu.install ? [Y/n] ("A" to abort)
==> -----------------------------------------
==> n

==> Continue building byobu ? [Y/n]
==> -------------------------------
==>
==> Building and installing package
==> Install or build missing dependencies for byobu:
Password:
Password:
Password:
You are not allowed to launch /usr/bin/pacman with sudo
Please enter root password
Password:
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Targets (2): screen-4.0.3-8 [0.52 MB]  libnewt-0.52.12-3 [0.09 MB]

Total Download Size:    0.61 MB
Total Installed Size:   1.94 MB

Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
:: Retrieving packages from extra...
 screen-4.0.3-8-i686     530.4K  319.4K/s 00:00:02 [######################]  84%
:: Retrieving packages from community...
 libnewt-0.52.12-3-i686  624.4K   36.4K/s 00:00:17 [######################] 100%
checking package integrity...
(2/2) checking for file conflicts                  [######################] 100%
(1/2) installing screen                            [######################] 100%
(2/2) installing libnewt                           [######################] 100%
Optional dependencies for libnewt
    tcl: whiptcl support
    python2: libnewt api through _snack module

==> Making package: byobu 3.5-2 (Tue Oct 26 01:16:17 MDT 2010)
==> Checking Runtime Dependencies...
==> Checking Buildtime Dependencies...
==> Retrieving Sources...
  -> Downloading byobu_3.5.orig.tar.gz...
--2010-10-26 01:16:18--  https://launchpad.net/byobu/trunk/3.5/+download/byobu_3.5.orig.tar.gz
Resolving launchpad.net... 91.189.89.223, 91.189.89.222
Connecting to launchpad.net|91.189.89.223|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Moved Temporarily
Location: https://launchpadlibrarian.net/55692976/byobu_3.5.orig.tar.gz [following]
--2010-10-26 01:16:24--  https://launchpadlibrarian.net/55692976/byobu_3.5.orig.tar.gz
Resolving launchpadlibrarian.net... 91.189.89.228, 91.189.89.229
Connecting to launchpadlibrarian.net|91.189.89.228|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 355529 (347K) [application/x-tar]
Saving to: “byobu_3.5.orig.tar.gz.part”

100%[======================================>] 355,529      255K/s   in 1.4s   

2010-10-26 01:16:32 (255 KB/s) - “byobu_3.5.orig.tar.gz.part” saved [355529/355529]

  -> Found byobu-arch.diff
==> Validating source files with md5sums...
    byobu_3.5.orig.tar.gz ... Passed
    byobu-arch.diff ... Passed
==> Extracting Sources...
  -> Extracting byobu_3.5.orig.tar.gz with bsdtar
==> Entering fakeroot environment...
==> Starting build()...
patching file etc/byobu/socketdir
patching file usr/lib/byobu/wifi_quality
patching file usr/bin/byobu-config
patching file usr/bin/byobu-select-session
==> Tidying install...
  -> Purging other files...
  -> Compressing man and info pages...
  -> Stripping unneeded symbols from binaries and libraries...
==> Creating package...
  -> Generating .PKGINFO file...
  -> Adding install script...
  -> Compressing package...
==> Leaving fakeroot environment.
==> Finished making: byobu 3.5-2 (Tue Oct 26 01:16:36 MDT 2010)

==> Continue installing byobu ? [Y/n]
==> [v]iew package contents [c]heck package with namcap
==> ---------------------------------------------------
==> y

Password:
Password:
Password:
You are not allowed to launch /usr/bin/pacman with sudo
Please enter root password
Password:
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Targets (1): byobu-3.5-2 [0.15 MB]

Total Download Size:    0.00 MB
Total Installed Size:   0.61 MB

Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
checking package integrity...
(1/1) installing byobu                             [######################] 100%

==> byobu installation notes:
    ----------------------------------------
    Since byobu version 2.40 byobu is going trough a lot of changes.
    If you find your old profile not working, or have trouble starting
    byobu, try to use the byobu-janitor. Alternative to that is to
    backup your profile file and start byobu without one.
   
If you like this package, please install aurvote
and vote for its inclusion/keeping in [community]


*Hits F12, then types in "byobu" without the quotes

Image

Still wanna be able to roll it up and down like a window shade. It takes up a third of screen real estate, and wants to be always on top. Kind of need to get it out of the way once in a while without having to exit to the system tray with it. I'll hack it. I'll find a way.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8387
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby dedanna1029 » 26 Oct 2010, 08:53

As a heads up, there is also Yakuake, but it bites bigger than roadkill on a summer day. It's buggy as all crap, don't know what's up with that. It has no tray icon, and the way to exit is pull up a regular terminal and type "killall yakuake". Why I mention it, I have no clue, other than it seems to take a slight bit less screen real estate (but can't be rolled up either). There also is no option to make it transparent, one only has the default KDE terminal themes to choose from, as it's based on Konsole (but even Konsole in KDE3 had that option). Also, I can't figure for the life of me what the teeny buttons are at the lower right of it, except for one of them; they appear to do not much, with the exception of making you *think* you've exited and quit Yakuake when you haven't. Click that thing, then try to bring up Yakuake again. It's still there, and will trigger a Yakuake Notification that says nothing. Figures. KDE's good for that these days in general:

Image

(Yes, I know the size of both Guake and Yakuake can be edited; that's not the point. They take up the screen real estate by default, and that's pretty huge for both of them. I like the size, I just don't like that it's "always on top" with it, with no other option to get rid of it other than to hit F12 or some other key of your choosing, which minimizes it to the tray. Maybe I don't want to minimize to the tray? Why not just roll it up to get it out of the way for that three or so seconds you need it out of the way?)
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
Joste
Berserk
Posts: 84
Joined: 15 Mar 2010, 01:19

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby Joste » 26 Oct 2010, 11:07

Yakuake Version 2.9.6
Using KDE Development Platform 4.4.3 (KDE 4.4.3)

Works fine here buttons do what the tooltips say, quit, menu, keep window open when it loses focus.

Also, hitting F12 (or whatever) rolls it up and down rather than minimising to the tray.

There is a transparency option but it only makes some parts transparent, not the terminal background... Though there is a Compiz plugin you can use to make it transparent.


There is also tilda and YeahConsole.
Past experience demonstrates best method to tighten bolts is to use appropriate size spanners.

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9222
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Drop down terminals (Consoles)

Postby viking60 » 26 Oct 2010, 12:15

dedanna1029 wrote:
Still wanna be able to roll it up and down like a window shade. It takes up a third of screen real estate, and wants to be always on top. Kind of need to get it out of the way once in a while without having to exit to the system tray with it. I'll hack it. I'll find a way.

Should be pretty straight forward; just alter the settings after a right click on the system tray, Here you can un-check "Stay on top". And you can chose how much of the screen you want covered (Main window height). F12 actually hides/displays the terminal, but the content stays. Isn't that a "roll up"?
Image


Byobu works fine with this:
Image
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"


Return to “Tips & Tricks”