Arch Linux tips 'n tricks

Every day solutions to every day challenges. + Brilliant stuff

Moderators: b1o, jkerr82508

Forum rules
Please feel free to post your tip it does not have to be advanced. Also ask questions directly related to the tip here. But do not start new threads with questions or ask for help here. That is what the help section is for. forum rules: http://bjoernvold.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=568
User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Arch Linux tips 'n tricks

Postby viking60 » 25 Jul 2012, 18:10

Here is a good description of the new installation method:
http://ebalaskas.gr/wiki/archlinux/netinstall
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

GUI package management and updates

Postby viking60 » 18 Feb 2013, 14:05

Arch GUI package managements seems to come and go. Some are just to dangerous to use and some have dependencies that get broken.
Now there is a GUI front end for the great pacman that only depends on X:
PacmanXG4 is yet another GUI package manager but this one is pretty safe and also lets you update your AUR packages.
Image

It gives a nice overview over all the options that pacman (and Yaourt) have to offer.
Image
And why do you need it? Eh well you don't - but it is nice to search for a package and get info the easy way before you install it so why not?
Image
You can use it to find your fastest mirrors, remove orphans, update the system - the works! +1
It is also a good tool to learn pacman because it will show you what commands it is executing.
Image
To start pacmanxg4 you need to start it like this

Code: Select all

/opt/pacmanxg4/pacmanxg

******************
But there is a little helper that will keep track of your updates that is more suitable for updating both the standard repos and AUR:
Kalu wil keep track of updates from your standard repos and also what you have compiled from AUR.
Kalu might be all you need - In my case I have a problem to keep all my AUR stuff updated. Kalu tells me when it is time to react. Also I can mark packages that are not installed if I want to wait for a certain release etc - and Kalu will inform me about it:
Image
So does this mean that Arch has become newbie friendly?
No certainly not!
Try any other distro and gain some experience and then try Arch:
These nice and easy tools do not replace the the important stuff between the Keyboard and the chair....
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

e4rat and altered systemd path

Postby viking60 » 13 May 2013, 11:58

I use Grub legacy.
And I use e4rat to speed up boot time.
The problem: is that Arch has changed the path from /bin/systemd to /user/lib/systemd/systemd This needs to be altered wherever present in your boot process.

The solution:
Edit /etc/e4rat.conf and alter this line from:

Code: Select all

init /bin/systemd

to

Code: Select all

init /usr/lib/systemd/systemd

Save and life is good again :-D

I have altered the Arch wiki to reflect the change
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Arch Linux tips 'n tricks

Postby viking60 » 10 Mar 2015, 11:44

Lately we get a PGP key not trusted error when we update the Tor-Browser in Arch based distros (Manjaro Arch++++).
You can normally update your AUR apps with:

Code: Select all

yaourt -Syua

But Tor-browser will fail.
To get it to work I did a:

Code: Select all

gpg --keyserver pgp.mit.edu --recv-keys 0x4E2C6E8793298290

The last number is the key ID and may vary it is published here

and then:

Code: Select all

gpg --fingerprint 0x4E2C6E8793298290 

after that the update went just fine.

More here
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Anoying Load Kernel Module error

Postby viking60 » 08 Jun 2015, 07:27

I have this laptop that works OK but on every boot I get Load Kernel modules failed.

So I decided to use the systemd way to get rid of it:

Code: Select all

systemctl status systemd-modules-load

This showed me the load kernel module error and the PID -117 - so I drilled down further with

Code: Select all

journalctl _PID=117

This showd me the following:

Code: Select all

-- Reboot --
juni 07 16:58:57 heidi-lap systemd-modules-load[117]: Inserted module 'nfs'
juni 07 16:58:57 heidi-lap systemd-modules-load[117]: Failed to find module 'startx' <--------- !!!!
juni 07 16:58:58 heidi-lap systemd-modules-load[117]: Inserted module 'loop'
juni 07 16:58:58 heidi-lap systemd-modules-load[117]: Inserted module 'fuse'

Startx does work regardless of this error message. :confused

Since startx was the "problem" ; I need to check the config file for it in /etc/modules-load.d/
here I found the file startx.conf
I opened it with nano and it did only contain one word:

Code: Select all

startx

The thing is that starx works but systemd keeps giving me the load kernel modules error on every boot so I decided to comment it out like this;

Code: Select all

#startx

Would this stop the GUI from starting after a reboot? Time to find out... :pray:
I rebooted and everything was fine :jackpot
The error message was gone (and maybe the boot was a litle bit faster).
The system check is clean as a whistle after this fix:

Code: Select all

systemctl status systemd-modules-load
 systemd-modules-load.service - Load Kernel Modules
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/systemd-modules-load.service; static; vendor preset: disabled)
   Active: active (exited) since ma. 2015-06-08 08:29:31 CEST; 1min 48s ago
     Docs: man:systemd-modules-load.service(8)
           man:modules-load.d(5)
  Process: 128 ExecStart=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd-modules-load (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
 Main PID: 128 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
   CGroup: /system.slice/systemd-modules-load.service


If I needed to fix this?
No - everything worked - but that error message was anoying +1
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8411
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Arch Linux tips 'n tricks

Postby dedanna1029 » 12 Jun 2015, 03:37

Thank you! I used to get that a lot until my netbook crashed. Indeed, annoying!
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Arch Linux tips 'n tricks

Postby viking60 » 20 Nov 2016, 12:06

Downgrade PHP7 to PHP 5.6

Code: Select all

yaourt -S php56

Here you migh get a pgp key error so you need to get the signature of the maintainer:

Code: Select all

gpg --keyserver hkp://hkps.pool.sks-keyservers.net --recv-keys C2BF0BC433CFC8B3 FE857D9A90D90EC1


Edit the server conf:

Code: Select all

nano /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf

Comment out php7 and add the php5 stuff like this:

Code: Select all

#LoadModule php7_module modules/libphp7.so
LoadModule php5_module modules/libphp56.so
#Include conf/extra/php7_module.conf
Include conf/extra/php56_module.conf

then restart the server:

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl restart httpd.service

Now you are running php5 but you will need to adjust mysql too I will get back to that...
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"


Return to “Tips & Tricks”