Glances - Htop replacement that works everywhere

Every day solutions to every day challenges. + Brilliant stuff

Moderators: b1o, jkerr82508

Forum rules
Please feel free to post your tip it does not have to be advanced. Also ask questions directly related to the tip here. But do not start new threads with questions or ask for help here. That is what the help section is for. forum rules: http://bjoernvold.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=568
User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Glances - Htop replacement that works everywhere

Postby viking60 » 17 Jul 2013, 23:21

You might know htop.
Glances is a replacement that works on Linux Mac and Windows.
It Monitors your system or any system on your network and Manjaro Fedora Debian,Mint,Ubuntu ++ has it in the repos.
Image

Simply install it and type glances to monitor your system and press h - to get help and h again to get back.

To monitor another computer (server) on the network - go to it/login and type:

Code: Select all

glances -s

Then on your client type:

Code: Select all

glances -c @server

It will show you that server on your client terminal (using the IP is the best way):
Image
It can be used in tmux etc.
Image
Nice little tool this - enjoy! :coffee_cup:
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8411
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Glances - Htop replacement that works everywhere

Postby dedanna1029 » 19 Jul 2013, 17:39

Code: Select all

.:[ [email protected] : 10:38:07 : ~ ]:.
:( urpmq glances -a
No package named glances

:(

I like that it gives those warnings at the end on your computer. It's not doing it on the servers though, unless there's no warnings to notify of?
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Glances - Htop replacement that works everywhere

Postby viking60 » 20 Jul 2013, 09:32

It will warn equally well regardless of what box you are monitoring.
I think it is easier to structure the info with glances.
Like simply pressing m will sort by memory usage and c by CPU (a- for automatic is default).
I have noticed that this is not in the Mageia or Mandriva family repos - but I guess it can be "borrowed" from Fedora.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8411
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Glances - Htop replacement that works everywhere

Postby dedanna1029 » 21 Jul 2013, 06:21

hhmmm... I may just do that...
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Glances - Htop replacement that works everywhere

Postby viking60 » 04 Nov 2013, 17:01

Wiki added
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9242
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Glances - Htop replacement that works everywhere

Postby viking60 » 22 Nov 2018, 11:32

Today my Glances stopped working! I got a lot of jiberish text instead of the usual system info. :C
It turns out that glances got my network interface wrong assuming that my Laptop was on wire (enp1s0) while it actually is wireless..

Now this used to work just fine so it has to be a bug:
:A
https://github.com/nicolargo/glances/issues/1348

It is already fixed but not released yet so I have to make Glances work in the mean time. This can be done by eliminating the network module like this:

Code: Select all

glances --disable-plugin network


This starts Glances without the network plugin and everything ('cept network) works just fine again.

Life is good again:
Image

Thanks to this guy in the Manjaro forum
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"


Return to “Tips & Tricks”