Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux Topic is solved

Need help with your Linux distro? All questions are good - not all answers are -but we try

Moderator: jkerr82508

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby viking60 » 08 Nov 2015, 16:39

I have to admit that I had a hard time grasping that routine so I dunno :confused
Have you tried manjaro first? Does their Live CD have the wifi drivers now?
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8499
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 08 Nov 2015, 19:28

Nae haven'y tried yet, it's coming last as I want it/Arch to carry to boot loader. This bug with Mageia has kept me intrigued as well, if not frustrated LOL. I'll probably have to file one with Manjaro/Arch too, as last time I tried it it didn't work, and most still aren't including the driver for this thing.

The routine was, create the missing firmware directory:
Remove any ndiswrapper configuration (it didn't work):

Code: Select all

su -
password:
ndiswrapper -e netathrx

Then:

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /lib/firmware/ath10k/QCA6174/hw2.1

(and it was missing as this hardware was completely unsupported and still is really insofar as Linux in general goes)
Download the board.bin and firmware-x.bin from <some url, wherever he had me get it> and place them in the newly created directory.

Code: Select all

cp <whatever directory I had them in>board.bin /usr/lib/firmware/ath10k/hw/2.1
cp <whatever directory I had them in>firmware-x.bin /usr/lib/firmware/ath10k/hw/2.1

Reboot.
If it still didn't work (and it didn't), try:

Code: Select all

echo "options ath10k_core skip_otp=y" >/etc/modprobe.d/ath10k.conf

Reboot and see if it works.
Later in the bug, it was also download <some testing kernel from someplace on the web>, install it and see if that helps it to work.

We went through this routine several times until it did work.

However now, I'm about to try a new routine from the advisory and see if it works. Since this advisory also fixes security vulnerabilities that I was unaware of, I have to install the updates. However as to if they'll still work for the wireless, we'll see, as the updates have the same kernel (number-wise) that Thomas gave me for the last try (and clearly it's not working right now). I've uninstalled it to take the one in the updates, as it may have other things that will help. I've downloaded them via Cygwin. Wish me luck. This advisory I believe, is strictly a Mageia one.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby viking60 » 08 Nov 2015, 20:30

aha that was clearer.
So I would have a look at /etc/modprobe.d/ath10k.conf there.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8499
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 08 Nov 2015, 20:35

Yes, and I have. The only thing in it is the line he had me add to it.

I've missed some files from /core/release and /nonfree/release to be able to update so I'm downloading them now and then will go for it.

Started a urpmi --auto-update from my local repos (which I thought I had everything in) and that told me. I opted not to continue and get them downloaded.

This will take a while, even though I'm using --no-clobber.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby viking60 » 08 Nov 2015, 20:41

Can you not update directly with the "eth0" connection?
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8499
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 08 Nov 2015, 20:45

No, roomies have the cable tied up. It's OK, it's their cable.

I want to get this done now. Today.

I *may* have an eth cable hanging around but I have no clue where if I do, so am doing it this way.

It's nae bother. Either way the updates would have to download.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby viking60 » 08 Nov 2015, 20:51

Aha OK then :-D
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8499
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 08 Nov 2015, 21:06

:mrgreen:
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8499
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux  Topic is solved

Postby dedanna1029 » 10 Nov 2015, 00:21

The update got it, thanks! I've closed out bug #16915 as Resolved Fixed.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html


Return to “Help”