Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux Topic is solved

Need help with your Linux distro? All questions are good - not all answers are -but we try

Moderator: jkerr82508

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8494
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 29 Sep 2015, 20:36

Yeah, I noticed that...
Got the Fedora 23 dvd but I don't think it's going to make it either,,, however I am going to try to give it an actual install. One never knows.

Update, seems even Fedora has some work to do on it. I ran it live rather than install... no love, no option to add a wireless connection.

Code: Select all

[[email protected] ~]# lspci | grep Qualcomm -v
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Host Bridge -OPI (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Integrated Graphics (rev 09)
00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Audio Controller (rev 09)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP USB xHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP MEI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #1 (rev e3)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #3 (rev e3)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #4 (rev e3)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #5 (rev e3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP LPC Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP SATA Controller [AHCI Mode] (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP SMBus Controller (rev 03)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 10)
04:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GM108M [GeForce 840M] (rev a2)
[[email protected] ~]#
[[email protected] ~]#
[[email protected] ~]# journalctl -ab | grep -iE "ath10k|atheros"
Sep 29 11:41:35 localhost kernel: ath10k_pci 0000:03:00.0: pci irq msi-x interrupts 8 irq_mode 0 reset_mode 0
Sep 29 11:41:36 localhost kernel: ath10k_pci 0000:03:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/cal-pci-0000:03:00.0.bin failed with error -2
Sep 29 11:41:36 localhost kernel: ath10k_pci 0000:03:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/QCA6174/hw2.1/board-pci-168c:003e:17aa:3044.bin failed with error -2
Sep 29 11:41:36 localhost kernel: ath10k_pci 0000:03:00.0: failed to load spec board file, falling back to generic: -2
Sep 29 11:41:36 localhost kernel: ath10k_pci 0000:03:00.0: Direct firmware load for ath10k/QCA6174/hw2.1/board.bin failed with error -2
Sep 29 11:41:36 localhost kernel: ath10k_pci 0000:03:00.0: failed to fetch generic board data: -2
Sep 29 11:41:36 localhost kernel: ath10k_pci 0000:03:00.0: failed to fetch board file: -2
Sep 29 11:41:36 localhost kernel: ath10k_pci 0000:03:00.0: could not fetch firmware files (-2)
Sep 29 11:41:36 localhost kernel: ath10k_pci 0000:03:00.0: could not probe fw (-2)
[[email protected] ~]#

ndiswrapper is not found, and it kept telling me that I didn't have permissions to install the board.bin and firmware-5.bin (of course, as it can't install to a dvd...)
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8494
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 06 Oct 2015, 19:38

viking60 wrote:It looks like installing kernel 3.19 and then dkms makes it magically work on Ubuntu - while it is not working with kernel 4.1.

I believe that dkms is installed. ndiswrapper, I think, is not working right in Mageia 5.

I'm going to double-check on dkms, and see if I can go from there.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8494
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 06 Oct 2015, 23:48

We're getting closer. I should've made a b-line for the Mageia bugzilla to begin with.

https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=16915
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby viking60 » 06 Oct 2015, 23:56

Looks like you are getting closer to a solution. It is only a matter of time before your driver is in ath10k.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8494
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 07 Oct 2015, 00:11

Yep, and I can't wait. Thomas Backlund was very straightforward, did not confuse me. At least we got it to where the Linux driver is recognised, and I don't have to put up with ndiswrapper's shit any more (which it gives one a lot of, and is one of my complaints with Mageia, that they've carried over Mandrake and Mandriva bugs to it). doktor5000 I came to find out filed a bug back in the Mandrake days of ndiswrapper forgetting to load to create the interface to install a driver. It's certainly not doing its job now, so Thomas put me on a different path with it. I still have issues with drakconnect; see the last attachment (the screenshot) that I put up at the bug. However, this time I am a step closer because I get the option of either installing via ndiswrapper OR using the Linux driver in drakconnect. Before, I only had option to use ndiswrapper, which was an epic fail no matter what I did (still is an interface error on it, but not the ndiswrapper one).
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8494
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 07 Oct 2015, 07:50

It's done! It's done! It's done! +1

:) :jackpot :-D :-D :cheers :) :) 8-) :!: :!: :!: :mrgreen: :jackpot :love :dance: :dance: :groovy :rockon :dancer :skal

:party :party

I'll let you refer to the Mageia bug report for the details, but for now I'm going to mark this solved and smile for weeks (since I haven't in weeks from this)!!! Now I know what to do for it, and away I go with Arch! :)
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8494
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 07 Oct 2015, 07:53

Er, probably Manjaro first.

I'm keeping the Mageia installation. I didn't go through all this today on it for nothing. ;)

Triple boot time! :)
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8494
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 07 Oct 2015, 07:56

Er, Fedora first then Manjaro, then Arch.

Or,,, Haiku, then Fedora, then Manjaro, then Arch.







...I think I best get Vbox going...
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby viking60 » 07 Oct 2015, 09:47

Yes that bug explains it well.

Copying the latest ath10k driver to your box and use that seems to have fixed it.

Good news that is.. for all the padawans following (with that hardware) since this will be the default driver in future updates.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8494
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 07 Oct 2015, 16:49

Um, I spoke too soon. :( :( :(

Now when I go to create the connection, it sees it as unlisted and I have to put it in manually. When I do, it gives me no option for WPA2-PSK [AES]. It only gives me option for WPA/WPA2 Enterprise for WPA. :(
I also get "Network Manager is not currently running..." on boot, and it stays through login to the desktop.

So, I try with it, and of course the connection test fails...

Update: I'm going to go ahead and install Fedora 23 to the third part of the hdd now, and go through the process I went through at the bug to get it going with the wireless, see if it works there after.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby viking60 » 07 Oct 2015, 18:19

This does not seem to be a driver issue but a setup thing.
You need to enter your encryption key in the connection probably under WPA2-PSK [AES].

You can set or find that key on the router control panel.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8494
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4 issues with Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 07 Oct 2015, 20:57

viking60 wrote:This does not seem to be a driver issue but a setup thing.
You need to enter your encryption key in the connection probably under WPA2-PSK [AES].

You can set or find that key on the router control panel.

That's just the problem though. I don't have WPA2-PSK [AES] as an option to use. I only have WPA/WPA2 Enterprise, which my connection isn't.

Can it be used anyway, or ?
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html


Return to “Help”