Arch Linux

You like a certain distro? Tell us why here

Moderators: b1o, jkerr82508

Forum rules
Try to avoid "fanboyism" Spam is strictly forbidden. The general rules apply: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=568
User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8472
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Arch Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 10 Sep 2015, 01:01

No. openSUSE on the 2nd (what will be again) open partition (wipe 'n load with it; it's the Mageia partition, dump Mageia)
Manjaro on the 3rd open partition (blank right now except is formatted fat32; I haven't messed with it)

IF Manjaro runs OK after it's updated, and gives me my wireless, then I know Arch will run on this thing OK, so I'll install Arch, wiping Manjaro. No worries, I'll play with Manjaro first - I still have a LOT of relearning to do (as evidenced by trying to remember a lot of things in Mageia).
Keep in mind, Mageia is not updated enough for this thing in any way shape or form - the 3.19 kernel isn't seeing jack. I need at least 4.0, if not 4.1. I've been reading at various threads that it will have to be at least 4.0 to read the wireless on this thing. Lots of "it r not c'ing my wireless" threads for kernel 3.x when on Qualcomm.
I could conceivably put Manjaro on first, but I would want it to carry the bootloader for the time I have it on here, as I will Arch. Install last, and the last distro will take over the bootloader.

I also want to see how these distros will deal with UEFI.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8472
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Arch Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 29 Sep 2015, 20:58

The downloads page at Arch Linux still says they're on kernel 4.1.6? Have they just not updated the page yet?

Here also?
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Arch Linux

Postby viking60 » 29 Sep 2015, 22:18

I just updated and got Kernel4.2.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8472
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Arch Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 30 Sep 2015, 06:41

Ah, through an update. OK.

Yep, it's going to be a longer wait than I thought. kernel 4.2 is too young in development at this stage. Learned that earlier today.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Arch Linux

Postby viking60 » 30 Sep 2015, 09:09

If you install Arch today you will get Kernel 4.2.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8472
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Arch Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 30 Sep 2015, 16:29

Aye. I did with F23, too. Didn't matter. :(
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8472
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Arch Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 08 Jan 2016, 18:55

OK, I'm wondering if I install Arch these days, will it see my Windows and Mageia partitions? Or will I have to custom partition it out and manually figure it out still? I've had a bit of an issue before with this, getting it installed to the correct drive, so dropped it. I couldn't tell what was what.
When I had it installed before in the Gnome 2 days, I had it dual-booted with Fedora. I installed Arch first IIRC, then Fedora so I could get the better partition manager.
I'm not going to do Manjaro. I've tried twice with two different flavours of it and it freezes every time when I try to install it. I think that's enough of a test.

Thanks.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Arch Linux

Postby viking60 » 10 Jan 2016, 11:36

It is possible.
But you need to do the work and Microsoft has put Limitations on the Windows boot process that the Linux Kernel has not so you need to identify how your Windows boots.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Du ... th_Windows

It is recommended to disable Uefi secure boot (Windows should still boot fine without it) and Fast Startup (if not you may lose data when you boot into Linux after a Windows session).

You will have to put in some research and work though - I cannot imagine that it will work right out of the box.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8472
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Arch Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 10 Jan 2016, 23:24

I've got all that done with Mageia on here.

I've allocated 200 GBs for Windows, and that's done.
Mageia has half of what's left of a 1TB drive.
I'd like to put Arch on the other half.

I'm just wondering if Arch will auto-detect those partitions or if I have to find them once in the installer or if I will have to figure it out.
Looks like I'll have to figure it out. :\

I can see this won't be easy. I'm needing to triple-boot with Arch taking the bootloader.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Arch Linux

Postby viking60 » 10 Jan 2016, 23:36

It could be as easy as simply copying /etc/grub.d/40_custom to /etc/grub.d/07_custom and use that as a template.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GR ... oot_record. :confused
I don't have several Linux installs on the HW I use VirtualBox to check out other distros.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8472
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Arch Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 10 Jan 2016, 23:52

OK, thanks.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html


Return to “Distro talk”