Arch Linux

You like a certain distro? Tell us why here

Moderators: b1o, jkerr82508

Forum rules
Try to avoid "fanboyism" Spam is strictly forbidden. The general rules apply: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=568
User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Arch Linux

Postby viking60 » 14 Mar 2010, 21:59

Flexible system for pros?
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8472
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Arch Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 14 Mar 2010, 22:06

Yeeeeeeeeesss!! :)

Arch is my baby. I need to reinstall it though, because I embarked on a project of sorts. I've installed it for businesses, for personal use for people, the works. It just works. :)
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Arch Linux

Postby viking60 » 14 Mar 2010, 22:52

Yes I guess it does - But over here I have noticed a Keyboard bug that is driving me nuts. It seems to default on US-Keyboard every time I log in - and that sux.
You probably don't notice over there
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8472
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Arch Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 14 Mar 2010, 23:12

Yeah, unfortunately, I wouldn't notice that here. :(
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Arch Linux

Postby viking60 » 27 Mar 2010, 01:23

Still I am impressed. Errors are fixed pretty quickly too.Hm if I get norwegian letters in the terminal automatically (yes I can fix it manually after each boot but.....), Then I might just switch alltogether.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8472
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Arch Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 27 Mar 2010, 03:53

{{{{{{Arch Linux}}}}}}
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Arch Linux

Postby viking60 » 02 Apr 2010, 22:34

Well I am back on this one after having spent way to much time in the Gentoo thread:) It is fun when it works and you learn a lot. But I do not have that much time and patience. :P So I am doing a nice net install on my laptop with a broken LCD monitor. I have set it all up and I am now installing gnome-extras. Looking good and it is fast and nice and you can tweak without the wait....sigh. Its good to be back on a normal distro.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Arch Linux

Postby viking60 » 02 Apr 2010, 23:38

I am now posting this from my new Arch installation. Not the easiest of installations but here I am. Good feeling, Now the testing and the tweaking starts.
Could use a good tip on how I get the numbers on the left of my keyboart(laptop) to work.
I have Gnome running. I have added the chakra repositories for KDE and I am installing their KDE now. Hope it will work fine.....
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8472
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Arch Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 03 Apr 2010, 02:59

Do you have the correct locales running?

Also, look in the System menu-->Preferences-->Keyboard and tweak the keyboard layout there.

You could also look in System menu-->Preferences-->Keyboard shortcuts and see if anything can help there.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Arch Linux

Postby viking60 » 03 Apr 2010, 11:11

Locales are running fine. It is the Number keypad that is out of order - I think I have to tweak the Keyboard layout - But I have no clue what a laptop keyboard with numbers on the side is called. oh well I'll get back to it- Now I hva to figure out why only gnome is working while the Kde from Chakra starts and bounces right back to the login pic. I have done all the shit in rc.conf and inittab works with gnome not KDE go figure.
AHA This is exactly the problem I have: http://chakra-project.org/bbs/viewtopic.php?id=2463 Basicaly it says that chakra sux.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Arch Linux

Postby viking60 » 03 Apr 2010, 12:09

Ok I have got it working dual boot Gnome KDE (chakra version). Gnome works fine by following the documentation on Arch.
Now when following the instructions on chakras pages on adding KDE (repositories), it will crash if you download the full version - for sure!
Here is the fix:

After having installed KDE according to the instructions on the chakra pages:
Install qimageblitz

Code: Select all

pacman -S qimageblitz

This file is not correctly pulled when installing the chakra kde.
This will let you log in to KDE but plasma will crash after 10 sec.

To fix this new error you must remove :

Code: Select all

pacman -Rd kdemod-networkmanagement-networkmanager-plasmoid

(I also moved the chakre repositories up before the Arch repos in /etc/pacman.conf but I don't think that matters)

It now works :!:
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8472
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Arch Linux

Postby dedanna1029 » 03 Apr 2010, 16:25

Nice. I didn't use Chakra; the Gnome worked fine. I didn't bother with KDE, but then I rarely do on any distro.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html


Return to “Distro talk”