Installing Manjaro on my main box

You like a certain distro? Tell us why here

Moderators: b1o, jkerr82508

Forum rules
Try to avoid "fanboyism" Spam is strictly forbidden. The general rules apply: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=568
User avatar
rolf
Guru-Berserk
Posts: 1107
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 16:07

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby rolf » 06 Jun 2013, 22:57

Thank you, really, for all the help. :greetings

At the moment, I've taken the plunge for Mageia 3 64-bit, mounted all my partitions over here, including my /home. As I set up my Mageia user with same name, password, and uid, it just works to use my old files (knock on wood).
So, far, except I have to find gtkam, somewhere, it is a pretty smooth transition, just like Rosa 2012.1r1 but printing works. :berserk2

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby viking60 » 07 Jun 2013, 10:07

That printer must be made of gold :-D But taking what works is always a good choice and simply taking over your old home is valuable. I on the other hand am forced to a long overdue cleanup :coffee_smile:
Here is the result so far
:A
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby viking60 » 09 Jun 2013, 13:37

Hm there seems to be a big problem here.
I can use SSH just fine to connect to other PC's but it is not possible to connect to the Manjaro box. Since this worked with Mandriva it cannot be HW related. And I checked the Firewall - wich is fine - and nmap reports the port to be open.
So it should connect. The sevices are running sshd too.
I get

Code: Select all

 ssh_exchange_identification: read : Connection reset by pear
on any PC when trying to connect to the Manjarobox.
I have flushed iptables and done just about anything (tried different kernels) :wall:

It is a complete mystery, but it is like this old bug:
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/22897

This is not good :naughty:
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
rolf
Guru-Berserk
Posts: 1107
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 16:07

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby rolf » 09 Jun 2013, 15:38

Well, on the printer, I rely on it, it worked fine, before, and I'm not in a position to be throwing gold at random new printers to solve a software problem. :greetings

For your ssh problem, I'm no expert but have encountered some failed connections on new installations. ISTR the solution lay in /etc/, in the ssh.conf and/or sshd.conf files. Have you compared those to your working configuration? :A

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby viking60 » 09 Jun 2013, 16:56

I have checked them and altered them and restarted daemons. But I guess I can always do more of that. It must be in /etc/ssh/sshd_config and I have been over that a couple of times.
The client config on the various computers must be OK since I can log in elsewhere.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
rolf
Guru-Berserk
Posts: 1107
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 16:07

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby rolf » 09 Jun 2013, 17:04

It must be in /etc/ssh/sshd_config
:think: Mebbe. ISTR believing this, in some case or other, yet ssh.conf had some effect on the server box side, not sure. :P :lam

User avatar
rolf
Guru-Berserk
Posts: 1107
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 16:07

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby rolf » 09 Jun 2013, 17:24

Also, I was almost ready to go back to Manjaro/Arch because of another problem on Mageia 3. I would not think it probable but, just in case:
https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9723#c17

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby viking60 » 09 Jun 2013, 17:45

Oh boy that is even worse. I can ssh password less with rsa key to all my computers. But from those computers to the Manjaro box it stops.
I have been over the firewall too (using UFW). But there is something fishy with the sshd.service here so I hav to start the

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl start sshd.socket

:idea: Hey got an idea that might solve this...2 sec....
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby viking60 » 09 Jun 2013, 17:49

I start the daemon command directly instead of

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl start sshd.service

I did a :

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/sshd -D

And got the error

Code: Select all

/etc/ssh/sshd_config: line 118: Bad configuration option: /etc/issue
/etc/ssh/sshd_config: terminating, 1 bad configuration options


/etc/issue contains the welcome message of the server - and I don't need it so I went to /etc/ssh/sshd_config and commented out line 118 and after that i did a

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl start sshd.service
..... :dancer

I can now provide my keys and load into the Manjaro box.

Who would have thought that a petty thing like that could cause such huge problems.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
rolf
Guru-Berserk
Posts: 1107
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 16:07

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby rolf » 09 Jun 2013, 17:52

That's good. :s

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby viking60 » 09 Jun 2013, 17:56

Yup and after that Manjaro rocks again +1 do switch back!
Made the network printer work on that other box -no problem as long as we remember to start the avahi-daemon before we start the cupsd.

Don't ask me why :confused Then it works though.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9285
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby viking60 » 11 Jun 2013, 15:02

I had some problems with the icons in my Openbox config - some of them would simply not show up on my docky -panel and thunar fired without icons.

So I installed lxappearance-obconf with pamac and fired up lxappearance. Here I got the option of adding a lot more so I picked the theme that Manjaro uses in XFCE: Faenza-Green
Image
So Life is good again :
:A
Image

The good old oxygen theme looks good too - it's your choice :-D
Image
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"


Return to “Distro talk”