Installing Manjaro on my main box

You like a certain distro? Tell us why here

Moderators: b1o, jkerr82508

Forum rules
Try to avoid "fanboyism" Spam is strictly forbidden. The general rules apply: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=568
User avatar
rolf
Guru-Berserk
Posts: 1107
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 16:07

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby rolf » 05 Jun 2013, 22:57

No, at boot, when the kernel mounts the filesystem(s) on the partition(s), it checks for "dirty" flags that get set when a bad shutdown or poweroff happens, for example. If it sees this evidence of possible filesystem corruption, it does fsck and tries to set things right, using the journal, if present. This should only happen on this type of rare occasion. I checked the disk with ide-smart and there is no report of disk failure, another way this corruption might happen. Also ran memtest a little, but that did not trigger and I don't see this when booting to Rosa, so it's not memory.

Symptoms vary from the system not starting at all to continually running fsck on start up.

That turned up at google, is probably not related, but is a report of the continual fsck at start up problem I am referring to.

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby viking60 » 05 Jun 2013, 23:15

Must be a very distant cousin :-D And it really is not a good idea to use -f with pacman - that is a recipe for braking stuff. The ignore option in /etc/pacman.conf is better. But as I understand it you have not forced any install so you really should have a working system.

I have the lxdm login manager going down on me from time to time when I dance between kde openbox and XFCE but it is easily started again with

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl restart lxdm.service

I must admit I had a traumatic period yesterday but it all went well. While I was at it; I was frustrated beyond description. :wall:

Arch does fsck normally on every 30 boot
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
rolf
Guru-Berserk
Posts: 1107
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 16:07

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby rolf » 06 Jun 2013, 00:03

Yes, 30 boots is fine but this is happening every boot (nearly). Also, sound is not working. Maybe Arch, Mint...? Someone (you?) said SuSE has an rpm dependency solver like urpmi, maybe better, but I doubt it's better. 13 years using rpm is hard to give up for a fresh set of problems for an old guy. :lam

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby viking60 » 06 Jun 2013, 00:37

I don't think I said that. Pacman is the best dependency solver. I never had a problem when removing orphans there. And that can happen with urpm.

Suse has zypper and yast. Zypper is Suses urpmi and it is perfectly OK.
I update Suse with zypper dup.
If you add the tumbleweed repo you will have a rolling release.

What I dislike is that Suse has one repo for every litle piece of software. And the auto web installs never work. And neither do the software search facilities.
But then again you being a rpm guru - will have no problem in installing a laking bit from the Centos repos (I have done it).

Suse looks great - and never keeps what the look promises IMO.
And I must admit: My first Linux experience was with a Suse live CD.
And Suses main competitor is Redhat - I would not like to think what can happen if they manage to outdo RedHat (Commense the Extinguish phase...).

Then again Suse has the manpower to ensure that they will be there tomorrow - that is good for an old Mandriva user.

Why cannot everybody be perfect? :-D
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
rolf
Guru-Berserk
Posts: 1107
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 16:07

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby rolf » 06 Jun 2013, 00:51

I've got openSUSE-12.3-DVD-x86_64 iso in my hot little hands. Yes, I see zypper is supposed to be great. With the main motivator being getting my printer working, I see it working on another box on Mandriva 2011 x86_64 and 64-bit Manjaro. Rosa, IMO, is the most viable Mandriva-descended distro atm, and it is screwing up my printing world. OpenMandriva is a long time coming and it will probably not differ from Rosa in what is making my printer barf. There is Mageia but I'm not so sure it won't be tied to Rosa. Apart from the printer, Rosa is comfortable. I have certain customizations in the / filesystem, such as Volker Kuhlmann's scripts, that I would have to redo, in any case.

Maybe I'll give Magiea 3 a try, first...not so far from home. Image

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby viking60 » 06 Jun 2013, 09:32

Yes that would take care of the ROSA dependency and Mageia works. Mageia is good quality. But if you make a package request you will be lucky if someone sees it.
It is auto assigned to the Mageia Bug Squad that they have democratically founded and there it stays.

https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10061

I had to implement the workaround in this wiki

So they have this French buerocratic style - and they are stubborn about it No matter if it works or not. If you try to contribute you are met with a "wait a minute are you member of a group - and do you receive at least 100 mails from our lists per day?"
"Hell no! I just fixed it" is not a valid answer :-D

And they seem to stubbornly defend a status quo that often means that noting at all is done - kind of like politicians. If you try to move forward over there, you will most likely be discouraged.

It is not all a capacity problem - they frequently confuse bureaucracy with actual work.

This means that Mageia has limitations in the packages offered (as has ROSA/Mandriva) but what they put in there does mostly work.
Remember that CLI download /upload program you suggested to me - hsftp - It was in the Mandriva 2008 repos. And it does not exist or work in neither Mageia nor Rosa anymore.
https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=7859

You will find a fully functional hsftp with yaourt! +1

But this will not be a problem for rpm gurus like you - so Mageia could be a sollution.

They have kept the user friendliness that we were used to in the good old Mandriva so they are a great option for Linux newcomers too.

Edit:
I realize I sound a little negative here - I always do that when I am seriously considering something - They are all good distros +1
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby viking60 » 06 Jun 2013, 13:40

Anyway iptables did not start correctly on my Manjaro and it turned out that it was looking for
/etc/iptables/iptables.rules
But the file was not there only:
empty.rules simple_firewall.rules

So I did a

Code: Select all

cp empty.rules iptables.rules
and the iptables.service started. This might get me closer to connecting to my Manjaro box with ssh.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
rolf
Guru-Berserk
Posts: 1107
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 16:07

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby rolf » 06 Jun 2013, 17:20

https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10061

I had to implement the workaround in this wiki
:B Very nice and professional-looking. There are a lot of personalities involved all over FOSS development.
Consider Gnome 3 and I am getting increasingly irritated with grub2 :f
Trying to just get kernel messages to display at boot in the time-honored fashion, I have found a lot of misinformation, failure, and one citation that grub developers simply decided to suppress kernel messages by default. It used to be grub claimed superiority in that a simple edit of menu.lst was all that was needed and I agree. Now, you have to run a script. grub2 is full of scripts and, in my ignorance, it smells of something to take configuration control out of the user, something like MS Registry. It's just a creeping paranoia that Linux is being degraded into more and more a Windows-like system in pursuit of that vast market share, and I can do nothing about it. :wall:

I would say it looks like Mageia is a bit understaffed and who knows what personality might contain a hurdle to adoption of your patch. Just a friendly suggestion:
We all know you've got the ÆØÅ :berserkf
However, the universal supreme language is still English and documentation is, generally, standardized to be in that. I see LC_ALL=C to be advised to get the universal output in CLI but I don't know that that would work to call a gui program. Probably, you'd have to install the English locale pack and use that.
Just sayin' :confused

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby viking60 » 06 Jun 2013, 18:37

Yes I figured some English/US foreigner could do that. If not, they will have to live with Valhallian :-D
It is presented in the most important language. +1
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8470
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby dedanna1029 » 06 Jun 2013, 18:56

@rolf, I've not seen anything Rosa pop up here on MGA3 yet, but I have seen very light talk once in a while that it may come to fruition with it. I do not see it happening with 3 though, since it is already released as-is without it. Future versions, who knows. I think what I've seen is just rumor, but I'm keeping an eye out. I don't want any Rosa anything, so if they do implement any of it, you will see me jump ship from MGA so fast it will make everyone's head spin (and at that point *may* go Arch KDE, depending on how much of it I can still build myself; if a lot, then I'll have it. If not, I won't). I don't support Arch any more because of their zealousness for Gnome 3 since the day it was released. Far as I'm concerned, any distro that is strong on being Gnome3-centric can go fly a kite.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
rolf
Guru-Berserk
Posts: 1107
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 16:07

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby rolf » 06 Jun 2013, 20:48

Clearly, I have no proper words for @ :bowlol Image

However, @ dedanna, I'm running MGA 3 in my sandbox and have got the printer working, it seems. I had freezes in KDE that seemed very much like what you and others described in that 3-page thread on the forums. I started watching top and disabled Neopomuk but didn't see anything last session. If it's Firefox, I will eliminate that in favor of Seamonkey, if I migrate over. Everything else seems ok, so far, maybe except for some configurations not sticking the first time, allegedly. The freeze is a show-stopper, tho.

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9273
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Installing Manjaro on my main box

Postby viking60 » 06 Jun 2013, 22:38

Oh well I had not noticed that. Arch is KISS and you can install whatever DE you want.
Arch and Manjaro have truly integrated inxi so you can also check out your repos with it:
:A

Code: Select all

[[email protected] ~]$ inxi -r
Repos:     Active pacman repo servers in file: /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist
           http://mirror.dacentec.com/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://www.gtlib.gatech.edu/pub/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://spiralinear.org/manjaro/repo/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://ftp.halifax.rwth-aachen.de/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://ftp.belnet.be/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://ftp.nluug.nl/pub/os/Linux/distr/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://ftp.rz.tu-bs.de/pub/mirror/manjaro.org/repos/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://ftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://ftp.lug.ro/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://manjarolinux.polymorf.fr/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://mirrors.serverhost.ro/manjaro/packages/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://ftp.heanet.ie/mirrors/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://repo.manjaro.org.uk/stable/$repo/$arch
           ftp://ftp.belnet.be/mirror/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://ftp.cc.uoc.gr/mirrors/linux/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://mirrors.xservers.ro/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           ftp://ftp.nluug.nl/pub/os/Linux/distr/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           ftp://ftp.heanet.ie/mirrors/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           ftp://ftp.lysator.liu.se/pub/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://ftp.tsukuba.wide.ad.jp/Linux/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://www.las.ic.unicamp.br/pub/manjarolinux/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://manjaro.mirror.ac.za/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://free.twaren.net/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://kambing.ui.ac.id/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://www.ftp.ne.jp/Linux/packages/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://free.nchc.org.tw/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://mirrors.ispros.com.bd/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://manjaro.fis.unb.br/stable/$repo/$arch
           ftp://manjaro.mirror.ac.za/stable/$repo/$arch
           ftp://mirrors.ispros.com.bd/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           http://mirrors.ustc.edu.cn/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           ftp://ftp.gtlib.gatech.edu/pub/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
           ftp://ftp.kddilabs.jp/Linux/packages/manjaro/stable/$repo/$arch
[[email protected] ~]$

Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"


Return to “Distro talk”