Tor with Google Chrome or Iron browsers?

Well its a networking forum.... #"@! Atheros drivers...

Moderators: b1o, jkerr82508

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8621
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Tor with Google Chrome or Iron browsers?

Postby dedanna1029 » 09 Mar 2011, 09:20

I've just followed the instructions here in Iron browser, very easy to do. Tor is running, according to Vidalia...

Image

However, when I switch to Tor in Iron browser with Proxy Switchy, this is what I'm getting:

Image

Any clue what's going on here?

Thanks.

Edit: I've just installed the Tor button in Firefox, and it's not working there, either, with the same settings.

Image

So, would this be something between me 'n my ISP?

http://www.chromeplugins.org/google/plu ... #post31320

Edit2: Okay, and I've got it to go for Iron browser, by switching to Port 9050 (SOCKS), but wow, it really is SLOOOOOOOOWWW...

Thanks again.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9318
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Tor with Google Chrome or Iron browsers?

Postby viking60 » 09 Mar 2011, 10:18

I have one Tor browser for safe surfing -Firefox. Lots of problems and slow etc. But it is a good idea to use it with one dedicated browser that you use when you want to be safe.
Of course it might be sabotaged by ISP's and surveillance horny bureaucrats. But i find myself with Tor turned of most of the time due to the problems.
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8621
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Tor with Google Chrome or Iron browsers?

Postby dedanna1029 » 09 Mar 2011, 10:35

Okay, well, it's working in Iron browser, so I guess I'll keep with it for safe browsing. I rarely use Firefox anyway, so... if it doesn't want to work with it, I can use Iron anyway - with the Switchy Proxy, I can switch from/to using Tor when I want to anyway. *shrug*

I have found with Tor in Iron, that if you don't use Tor for the HTTP proxy, but rather with SOCKS only in Preferences (as Tor isn't an HTTP proxy anyway), it does speed things up a tad.
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9318
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Tor with Google Chrome or Iron browsers?

Postby viking60 » 09 Mar 2011, 10:41

Yes it is the recommended way of surfing in IMHO
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8621
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Tor with Google Chrome or Iron browsers?

Postby dedanna1029 » 09 Mar 2011, 10:42

Definitely.

For future lurkers to this, here's what I have in Switchy Proxy options:

Image

Edit: I think I'll go see now if I can screw up Seamonkey with this :lol:

It already runs slower than a turtle anyway, so why not :lol:

Elsewise, bed time for this kid.

Good night (morning?).
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8621
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Tor with Google Chrome or Iron browsers?

Postby dedanna1029 » 09 Mar 2011, 10:52

I snuck a peek at Seamonkey on the way out of here.

Guess what? I didn't have to do anything to it but load it, go to Preferences-->Proxies, which was already set to use systemwide settings, and BAM, I went to check, and:
Congratulations. Your browser is configured to use Tor.
Please refer to the Tor website for further information about using Tor safely. You are now free to browse the Internet anonymously.


Niiiiiiiiiiccce! :)
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html

User avatar
viking60
Über-Berserk
Posts: 9318
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 16:34

Re: Tor with Google Chrome or Iron browsers?

Postby viking60 » 09 Mar 2011, 10:53

:B
Manjaro 64bit on the main box -Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz and nVidia Corporation GT200b [GeForce GTX 275] (rev a1. + Centos on the server - Arch on the laptop.
"There are no stupid questions - Only stupid answers!"

User avatar
dedanna1029
Sound-Berserk
Posts: 8621
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 20:29
Contact:

Re: Tor with Google Chrome or Iron browsers?

Postby dedanna1029 » 09 Mar 2011, 18:37

This is funny! Now, when I click up Iron, google.com goes to google.com.ph, google.fr, anywhere but google.com! :lol:
I'd rather be a free person who fears terrorists, than be a "safe" person who fears the government.
No gods, no masters.
"A druid is by nature anarchistic, that is, submits to no one."
http://uk.druidcollege.org/faqs.html


Return to “Networking”